Home Page

EYFS Statutory Framework

The link below will take you to the latest version of the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework. This framework sets the standards which we meet to make sure children are given the optimum opportunity to progress and develop, in a safe and healthy environment.  It is split into three sections, which are: learning and development requirements, assessment and safeguarding and welfare.

Within the EYFS framework, are 7 core areas of learning, which shape what children aged 0-5 are taught and how their progress is monitored. These areas of learning are divided into two groups: prime and specific.


Prime areas of development and specific areas of development.

Prime Areas of Development focus on the development of essential life skills and form the foundations for future learning and development. The three prime areas are also important for igniting enthusiasm and curiosity in terms of children's learning, and are essential in children's abilities to form relationships and thrive. The prime areas are:

Specific areas of development and learning give children a strong grounding in literacy and maths, broaden their understanding of the wider world, while also encouraging creativity and self-expression. Through the specific areas of development and learning in the EYFS framework, the prime areas are applied and strengthened. The specific areas are:

Early Learning Goals

The early learning goals are what practitioners use to assess children’s progress at the end of Foundation 2. The assessment process is documented in the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile 2022 Handbook (New EYFS 2021)Below is a table containing the 7 EYFS areas of learning and the early learning goals for each area.



Area of Learning

Proposed ELGs

Communication and Language

  • Listening, attention and understanding
  • Speaking

Physical Development

  • Gross motor skills
  • Fine motor skills

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Self-regulation
  • Managing self
  • Building relationships




Area of Learning

Proposed ELGs


  • Comprehension
  • Word reading
  • Writing


  • Number
  • Numerical patterns

Understanding the World

  • Past and present
  • People, culture and communities
  • The natural world

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Creating with materials
  • Being imaginative and expressive

Safeguarding and Welfare

The active promotion of children’s oral health has been added to the Safeguarding and Welfare section of the current EYFS statutory framework. This comes in response to Public Health England research, which found that 1 in 5 children aged 5 has, or have had, tooth decay.





Link to the EYFS Framework